PS19/16: High-Cost Credit Review: Overdraft policy statement

CP18/42: High-Cost Credit Review: Overdrafts consultation paper a...
18/12/2018
PS19/16: High-Cost Credit Review: Overdraft policy statement
07/06/2019
CP19/18: Overdraft Pricing and Competition Remedies
07/06/2019
07/06/2019
Consultation closes
07/08/2019

These are the final rules we are introducing to reform the overdraft market.

Read PS19/16 (PDF)

FCA Overdraft proposals consumer research 

Why we have changed our rules

In our Consultation Paper, CP18/42 (December 2018), we explained why fundamental reform was needed to the way banks charge for overdrafts. We proposed radical changes to the overdraft market to address harm from high prices for unarranged overdrafts, complex pricing structures, low consumer awareness and the repeat use of overdrafts.

Our package of remedies to make overdraft pricing simpler, fairer and easier to manage has been widely supported. We are:

  • stopping firms from charging higher prices for unarranged overdrafts than for arranged overdrafts;
  • banning fixed fees for borrowing through an overdraft – no daily or monthly fees, or fees for having an overdraft facility
  • requiring firms to price by a simple annual interest rate
  • issuing new guidance to reiterate that refused payment fees should reasonably correspond to the cost of refusing payments and
  • requiring firms to do more to identify customers who are showing signs of financial strain or are in financial difficulty and implement a strategy to reduce repeat use

We expect that the changes will result in a fairer distribution of charges, particularly benefitting vulnerable consumers, who are disproportionately hit by high unarranged overdraft charges.

This paper summarises the feedback we received, and our response to it. We are going ahead with our proposals, with some minor changes. We are extending the implementation period for some elements of the package, to ensure that firms have enough time to implement significant changes properly.

We are consulting separately in CP19/18 on further proposals to require firms to publish overdraft fees and charges for overdrafts as part of the current account service metrics.

Video: consumers' views on overdrafts

As part of our research, we interviewed consumers on their understanding and experiences of overdrafts.

Who this applies to

  • Banks and building societies which provide personal current accounts. The Policy Statement is concerned with arranged and unarranged overdrafts.
  • Payment service providers (PSPs) offering payment accounts that charge for refused payments should have regard to the new guidance on these.

Background to our high-cost credit work

We looked at overdrafts as part of our High-Cost Credit Review.

Our analysis showed that fundamental reform of overdrafts was required. The changes we are making today will reform the market, and lead to significantly improved outcomes for millions of overdraft users.

Next steps

Please read the parts of the paper that are relevant to you.

  • We recommend that you read the whole of this document if you are a bank or building society offering overdrafts or a trade body representing these firms.
  • Payment service providers offering payment accounts that charge for refused payments should read the relevant section of Chapter 6.
  • Firms providing overdrafts to micro-enterprises and small and medium enterprises (SMEs), and firms offering products marketed to consumers as having the same function as an overdraft, should read the section in Chapter 8 regarding application of our proposals.

If you would like to respond to Consultation Paper 19/18, which we are publishing alongside this Policy Statement, you can do so by 7 August 2019.

What will we do next

The new rules will come in to force on 6 April 2020, apart from the refused payment fees guidance, which will take effect immediately and the repeat use rules, which will come into force on 18 December 2019.

The implementation date for the rules we published in CP18/42 is 18 December 2019.

We will monitor the market and keep overdraft pricing under review once the rules have been implemented.

Page updates

12/04/2019: Information added Updated to note the closed consultation