List of third-country jurisdictions meeting the conditions for endorsement of credit ratings into the UK

The following are jurisdictions for which the legal and supervisory framework meets the conditions for endorsement of credit ratings into the UK for regulatory use.

    Update: 31 January 2020

    The UK has left the EU. It has now entered a transition period which is due to operate until 31 December 2020.

    During this time EU law will continue to apply in the UK. The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) will continue to operate as the direct supervisor of UK CRAs. UK firms using credit ratings for regulatory purposes can continue to use EU ratings over the course of the transition period in accordance with the existing rules.


    • Argentina
    • Australia
    • Brazil
    • Canada
    • The European Union
    • Hong Kong
    • Japan
    • Mexico
    • Singapore
    • South Africa
    • The United States of America

    This list will be updated as necessary.

    UK registered Credit Rating Agencies (CRAs) wishing to endorse ratings issued in these jurisdictions, are reminded that they must ensure that the credit rating activities of the third country CRA meet all the requirements of Article 4(3) of the Credit Rating Agencies Regulation, as amended by the Credit Rating Agencies (Amendment etc.) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019.