6 Towns Credit Union enters administration

6 Towns Credit Union Limited was placed into administration on 5 September 2023 and has now stopped trading. James Sleight and Peter Hart of PKF Geoffrey Martin & Co have been appointed as joint administrators.

6 Towns Credit Union Limited is a financial co-operative owned by its members. It is regulated by the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under Firm Reference Number (FRN) 419396 as a deposit-taker. 

The Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) is stepping in to protect members and will return members’ money within 7 days from when the Credit Union was declared in default. 

Members who want more information from the FSCS about receiving their money can do so by:

Lines are open Monday to Friday from 9.00am to 5.00pm.  

Members who make or receive regular payments from their account (e.g., salary, rent or benefits) or want to discuss their accounts can contact the administrators by:

Guidance is also available on their website.

Being alert to scams

All customers should remain alert to the possibility of fraud. If you are cold called by someone claiming to be from the credit union, PKF GM or the FCA, please end the call and contact them directly using the contact details provided by us.

See more on how to protect yourself from the most common types of scams. The ScamSmart pages on our website also provide advice on how to avoid investment and pension scams.