New members appointed to the Consumer Panel

On 1 June 2020 Julie Hunter and Natasha de Teran began three-year terms as members of the independent Financial Services Consumer Panel.

Panel Chair, Wanda Goldwag, said “I am pleased to welcome Julie and Natasha to the Panel.  They both bring valuable experience and knowledge of the financial services industry and the different ways in which regulatory policy can have an impact on consumers.

At a time when the FCA is having to act quickly to implement changes to combat the impact on consumers of Covid-19, the Panel’s role in providing advice and challenge from the consumer perspective continues to be important. I am therefore delighted we have been able to appoint two new members who can help us in this regard. I look forward to working with them.”

Julie is an independent consultant, writer and researcher specialising in financial services, who has worked exclusively in consumer advocacy, policy and protection for 20 years. Natasha is a former financial services practitioner and journalist/author with extensive global experience in regulation, particularly in the payments sector.

Consumer Panel Secretariat: 020 7066 9346


  1. The Consumer Panel is a statutory body under the Financial Services Act 2012.  The Financial Services Authority originally established it in December 1998. The Panel advises the FCA on the interests and concerns of consumers.  The Panel is independent. Its views do not represent those of the FCA.   
  2. The Panel’s membership is drawn from a broad range of backgrounds with expertise including market research, law, financial services industry, financial inclusion, European Regulation, financial regulation, consumer advice, campaigning, communications, compliance and later-life issues. 
  3. The emphasis of the Panel's work is on activities that are regulated by the FCA, although it may also look at the impact on consumers of activities outside but related to the FCA's remit. More information about the Panel's work is available on its website:


Wanda Goldwag (Chair)

Francis McGee

Mark Chidley

Julia Mundy

Sharon Collard

Keith Richards

Jonathan Hewitt

Natasha de Teran

Erik Porter

Dominic Lindley

Jennifer Genevieve

Julia Hunter