New EU role for Consumer Panel Vice Chair

11 March 2011

Kay Blair, Vice Chair of the Financial Services Consumer Panel, has been appointed as a consumer representative on the Insurance and Reinsurance Stakeholder Group of the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA).

EIOPA is the new European Supervisory Authority responsible for insurance and occupational pensions. Its core responsibilities are to support the stability of the financial system, transparency of markets and financial products as well as the protection of policyholders, pension scheme members and beneficiaries. It will ensure a high, effective and consistent level of regulation and supervision of insurance and occupational pensions within the European Union, better protecting consumers.

Kay Blair, Vice Chair of the Consumer Panel said:

"I am delighted to accept the appointment to this important group. I look forward to raising consumer issues and working for change at the European regulatory level.

My role on the Consumer Panel has enabled me to fight to get a fair deal and better outcomes for consumers of financial services. This appointment will help ensure the interests of consumers are adequately represented in Europe as well as complementing my work for the Consumer Panel. "


Notes to editors

  1. Further detail in EIOPA can be found on their website and the EIOPA press release can be seen on their website.
  3. Kay Blair's biography and photographs, at both low and high resolution, are available on our website.
  5. The Consumer Panel is a statutory body under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 and was initially established by the Financial Services Authority in December 1998. The Panel advises the FSA Board on the interests and concerns of consumers and reports on the FSA's performance in meeting its objectives.

  6. The emphasis of the Panel's work is on activities that are regulated by the FSA, although it may also look at the impact on consumers of activities outside but related to the FSA's remit. More information about the Panel's work is available on our website.
  8. There are currently fourteen members of the Panel as listed below. Panel members are appointed for a three year term which can be renewed once (For further information on individual members, see Who is on the panel.